DILG XIII confers SGLG markers to 19 LGU awardees for 2019

February 16, 2021

The DILG Region XIII conferred the Seal of Good Local Governance (SGLG) markers to 19 local government units (LGUs) passers in 2019 through a Regional Virtual Awarding Ceremony on February 5, 2021.

DILG XIII Regional Director Lilibeth A. Famacion said that the SGLG markers symbolize integrity and good performance of local governments as she encouraged the LGUs, saying that, “Regardless of demography or income class of LGUs, every LGU should perform its role in the delivery of efficient and effective service to its constituents. Just as it is most needed in these times amidst this COVID-19 pandemic, LGUs must be the stronghold of every community and every individual. Remember that no assessment is ever difficult for an LGU that is well-prepared.”

“Thus, we enjoin all LGU officials and functionaries to work 10 times harder to achieve the Seal,” Famacion said.

In the said ceremony dubbed as “SGLG Awards CY 2019: Pagpupugay sa Katapatan at Kahusayan ng Pamahalaang Lokal” the markers were awarded to two cities and 17 municipalities.

“These SGLG markers symbolize excellent LGU performance in pursuit of the promotion of general welfare anchored in Section 17 of Republic Act No. 7160 or the Local Government Code (LGC) consistent with the policy of the State to promote transparency, accountability, efficiency, and effectiveness in service delivery,” Famacion said.

The LGU awardees of SGLG CY 2019 conferred with the markers were Tandag City, Surigao del Sur and Surigao City, Surigao del Norte for the City Category while Carmen, Agusan del Norte; Las Nieves, Agusan del Norte; Esperanza, Agusan del Sur; Prosperidad, Agusan del Sur; Trento, Agusan del Sur; Burgos, Surigao del Norte; Gigaquit, Surigao del Norte; Mainit, Surigao del Norte; Malimono, Surigao del Norte; Sison, Surigao del Norte; Sta. Monica, Surigao del Norte; Tubod, Surigao del Norte; Cagwait, Surigao del Sur; Carrascal, Surigao del Sur; Cortes, Surigao del Sur; Hinatuan, Surigao del Sur; and, Dinagat, Dinagat Islands were the once awarded for the Municipality Category.

To earn the Seal, LGUs must be “ALL-IN” by passing all the 10 assessment areas namely: Good Financial Administration and Sustainability; Disaster Preparedness; Social Protection and Sensitivity; Safety, Peace and Order; Business-Friendliness and Competitiveness; Environmental Management; Tourism, Heritage Development, Culture and Arts; Sustainable Education; Health Compliance and Responsiveness; and, Youth Development.

The SGLG became a law on August 2, 2019 as Republic Act No. 11292 also known as “The Seal of Good Local Governance Act of 2019”. The Seal shifted its focus to results-based parameters that would influence behavioral change, which will include output-outcome indicators that exact accountability from the LGUs. It enjoins LGUs to perform a holistic approach to development by passing all 10 Governance Areas.