DILG Region 3 spearheads 2019 Orientation Course for Central Luzon Municipal Mayors

September 16, 2019

Setting the course of Central Luzon Municipal Mayors’ three-year term, DILG Region 3spearheaded the Orientation Course: Priming Leaders for Effective Local Governance for Central Luzon Municipal Mayors at the Fontana Leisure Park, Clark Freeport Zone, Angeles City.

It was the first intervention under the second component of the Program for Newly-Elected Officials (NEOs). It aims to enhance the competencies of newly-elected local chief executives (LCEs) in carrying out their tasks in community development while promoting peace and resilience towards inclusive and sustainable development.

The Program for NEO serves as a continuing intervention of the DILG, through the Local Government Academy (LGA), in its commitment to provide harmonized and holistic capacity development delivery mechanism for LGUs in the country.

As we celebrate your victories, keep in mind that there is a greater challenge that lies ahead. There are bigger battles to conquer, more problems to be solved and myriad of issues to be confronted. The fight does not end after winning the election. In fact, it has just begun,” said DILG R3 Regional Director Julie J. Daquioag who spoke on behalf of DILG Secretary Eduardo M. Año.

Among the specific programs tackled were Local Governance and the Evolving Role of Local Leaders; Building resilient Local Governments; Solution-Seeking Sessions on Key Governance Issues; Leadership for Peace and Development; and Setting Your Governance in Motion.

CDD Chief Ener P. Cambronero led the discussion and workshop on the formulation and fulfillment of LGUs’ Executive Agenda for Effective Local Governance as well as LCEs’ First 100 Days Action Plan. He tackled how LCEs should communicate and consult with the different department of their respective LGUs for the implementation of their Agenda and Action Plan.

The 3-day activity, attended by the newly-minted, and re-electedLCEs of Region 3, was conducted in partnership with the Bureau of Local Government Finance, Civil Service Commission, Commission on Audit, Department of Budget and Management, Department of Information and Communications Technology, National Intelligence Coordinating Agency and National Economic and Development Authority.