DILG 10 awards 2017 LTIA winners

October 13, 2017

“Our region needs to have functional and dynamic Lupong Tagapamayapas, and the lupons who are with us today are the ones who are serving as role models in the implementation of the Katarungang Pambarangay in our respective LGUs and barangays.”

This was the statement of the DILG Regional Director Arnel M. Agabe, as he lauded the achievement of the Lupong Tagapamayapa Incentives Awards (LTIA) regional winners during the awarding ceremony held at Grand Caprice, Cagayan de Oro on October 10, 2017.

“I believe that peaceful and conflict-free homes,neighborhood and communities are powerful engines of national progress—Progress that is inclusive and sustainable,”Agabe said.

With this,he emphasized the essential roles of lupons in every barangay. He added that more than the rapid economic growth that can be gained from this ideal situation is the boundless opportunities that it will provide to the citizens,especially the youth in realizing their full potential.“As we know,a peaceful and harmonious atmosphere and decent living conditions produce healthy,intelligent and responsible individuals,”he said.

In the category of Highly Urbanized Cities, Barangay Kauswagan of Cagayan de Oro City once again made it as the Outstanding Lupong Tagapamayapa for this year,followed by Barangay Camaman-an (first runner-up) and Barangay Canitoan (second runner-up),both of Cagayan de Oro City.

Barangay Magsaysay of Malaybalay City emerged as the Outstanding Lupong Tagapamayapa in Component Cities Category.First and second runners-up in this category are Barangay Batangan,Valencia City and Barangay Maningcol,Ozamiz City,respectively.

In the 1st-3rdClass Municipality Category,Barangay Calube,SND,Lanao del Norte retained their spot as the Outstanding Lupong Tagapamayapa. Following them were Barangay Sil-ipon,Libona,Bukidnon(first runner-up),Barangay Binitinan, Balingasag, Misamis Oriental (second runner-up),and Barangay Tipolo,Plaridel,Misamis Occidental and Barangay Pandan, Mambajao, Camiguin(regional finalists).

Moreover,Barangay Libertad,Kolambugan of Lanao del Norte took the lead in the 4th– 6thClass Municipality Category while Barangay Bonifacio Aqui?o,Magsaysay of Misamis Oriental was recognized as first runner-up,followed by Barangay Eastern Poblacion,Lopez Jaena of Misamis Occidental.

Agabe said that the DILG, together with the Department of Justice (DOJ),Philippine National Police (PNP),National Police Commision(NAPOLCOM),and the Civil Society Organization (CSO)partners,admires and salutes all the Lupong Tagapamapayapa awardees given the important roles of these barangay justice advocates.

“We admire you for responding to the call of duty by being an instrument of peace and justice for the greater hope. It is our hope that you will continue to carry out your duties with fairness, impartiality and with integrity,”he added.

Outstanding Lupong Tagapamayapa awardees received cash award worth P20, 000.00. First and second runners-up,and regional awardees were given P15,000.00,P10,000.00 and P5,000 respectively.