"BIDA ang May Disiplina: Solusyon sa COVID-19” campaign formally kicks off in Region XII

December 29, 2020

DILG XII has formally launched its "BIDA ang May Disiplina: Solusyon sa COVID-19" campaign through a virtually packed audience composed of dignitaries from the different government agencies.

Present in the event are: Technical Education and Skills Development Authority (TESDA) Secretary Isidro Lapena who is the appointed Cabinet Official for Regional Development and Security (CORDS) for Region XII, members of the Regional Peace and Order Council (RPOC) XII, Regional Task Force to End Local Communist Armed Conflict (RTF-ELCAC) XII, Regional Inter-Agency Task Force for Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases (RIATF-EID) XII, Regional Task Force (RTF) XII on COVID-19, Balik-Probinsya, Balik Pag-asa (BP2) Special Committee XII, local chief executives (LCEs), DILG executives, city and municipal local government operations officers (C/MLGOOS), barangay officials, civil society partners and a lot more.

DILG XII Regional Director (RD) Josephine Cabrido-Leysa outlined how the Disiplina Muna national advocacy campaign, which was originally focused on road clearing, listo sa sakuna (disaster preparedness), anti-smoking, ease of doing business, liquor ban, tourist spots clean-up, and the Barangay Anti-drug Abuse Councils (BADACs), had become the platform in the battle against COVID-19.

The DILG issued Memorandum Circular No. 2019-18, issued on October 24, 2019, providing guidelines to all local government units (LGUs), DILG Regional and Field Offices, and DILG attached agencies on the Disiplina Muna campaign. It is a thrust to “increase the consciousness among Filipinos of their critical role in sustainable and inclusive development and maintenance of peace and order as a shared responsibility.”

The Disiplina Muna National campaign was launched in the City of Manila last November 6, 2019. It was an initiative by the Department as the Chair of the Cabinet’s Participatory Governance Cluster (PGC), which seeks to rebuild the culture of discipline among Filipinos.

In mid-August of 2020, the DILG and the Department of Health (DOH) conducted the physical national launch of the joint campaign called "BIDA ang May Disiplina: Solusyon sa COVID-19" in Marikina City.

The joint campaign merged the DILG-led Disiplina Muna campaign and the DOH-led BIDA Solusyon sa COVID-19.

A month after that launch in Marikina City, the Department issued the DILG Memorandum Circular (MC) No. 2020-116 which provided guidelines to all LGUs and all the DILG attached agencies to refocus the Disiplina Muna campaign to address the COVID-19 pandemic through the “BIDA ang May Disiplina: Solusyon sa COVID-19” campaign.

Subsequently, the DILG issued Memorandum Circular 2020-170 to inform all LGUs, DILG Regional and Field Offices, and the BARMM Ministry of Local Government on the designation of select LCEs as Ambassadors of the “Bida ang May Disiplina: Solusyon sa COVID-19” campaign. These ambassadors will then become the advocates of the campaign among their fellow LCEs in the regions and their constituents.

Governor Steve Chiongbian Solon of Sarangani, the designated Disiplina Muna regional ambassador, emphasized in his message the importance of discipline in the community and how it made an impact in their campaign against COVID-19. Solon said that Region XII has “relatively been doing its best to beat COVID-19.”

“We have been keeping things relatively strict [in the Region] and the quarantine protocols helped in driving the numbers back to zero,” said Solon.

However, he expressed dismay over the relaxed attitude of many people who go out in public places. “I call on all the residents of the region to take heed of the minimum health standard though a vaccine is coming,” he added. He further explained that this development should not cause each one to “let our guard down.”

The launching, in effect, has given the green light for all the media partners in the Region to air various radio plugs of the BIDA ang May Disiplina celebrity ambassadors by 2021. These ambassadors include Diether Ocampo, Alden Richards, James Deakin, Mayor Isko Moreno, Matteo Guidicelli, Regine Tolentino, and Paolo Bediones.