35 NorMin LGUs to undergo BPLS workshops

August 27, 2014

Thirty-five (35) cities and municipalities in Northern Mindanao will undergo a series of workshops on streamlining Business Permits and Licensing System (BPLS) to assess and monitor their efficiency in the issuance of permits and licenses to business establishments.

DILG Region X Director Rene Burdeos said the workshops, which began last August 20, 2014, will also serve as a venue for DILG to assist the non-compliant cities and municipalities in meeting the BPLS streamlining requirements.

“We are aiming for a 100% compliance of BPLS standards among the local government unitsin the different provinces of the region,” said Burdeos.

Republic Act 9485 otherwise known as the Anti- Red Tape Act (ARTA) sets the standards for government in processing business permits and licenses aimed at improving efficacy and efficiency in the business registration system.

Among the 35 LGUs are: Malaybalay City and the Municipalities of Cabanglasan, Dangcagan, Don Carlos, Kadingilan, Kibawe, Kitaotao, Libona, Malitbog, San Fernando, Sumilao and Talakag, all from the Province of Bukidnon; Municipalities of Baloi, Magsaysay, Maigo, Matungao, Munai, Nunungan, Pantao Ragat, Poona Piagapo, Tagoloan and Tubod, all from the Province of Lanao del Norte; Municipalities of Balingasag, Balingoan, Binuangan, Jasaan, Kinoguitan, Magsaysay, Naawan, Opol, Sugbongcogon, Talisayan and Tagoloan, all from the Province of Misamis Oriental; and the Municipalities of Baliangao and Calamba for the Province of Misamis Occidental.

Said activity will be attended by the respective Local Chief Executives of each LGU, together with the following functionaries: City/Municipal Administrator; City/Municipal Treasurer/BPLO; Sangguniang Panlungsod/Bayan Member- Chairman on the Committee on Trade and Industry and the City/Municipal Local Government Operations Officer. (Fender Rhodes B. Lumbatan, LGOO II)