DILG: Mandatory Evacuation of 8 Barangays in Tagaytay based on PHIVOLCS

January 20, 2020

The Department of the Interior and Local Government ( DILG ) said that its order for mandatory evacuation in all barangays within the 14-km high risk danger zone was done together with the National Disaster Risk Reduction Management Council ( NDRRMC ) and upon recommendation of the Philippine Institute for Volcanology and Seismology (PHIVOLCS).

"Both the DILG and NDRRMC acted upon the strong representations of the PHIVOLCS that these barangays are susceptible to Volcanic Tsunami, Ballistic Projectiles, and Base Surge so as early as Monday we already issued the Mandatory Evacuation Order," said DILG Undersecretary and Spokesperson Jonathan Malaya.

He said that in the case of Tagaytay, the PHIVOLCS listed eight of its barangays as susceptible to Base Surge and Volcanic Tsunami which is why they were included in the Mandatory Evacuation Order issued by the Department last Monday.

"Let me clarify that its not the entire Tagaytay City but only 8 of its barangays that was included by PHIVOLCS as within the Danger Zone, so business establishments may continue operating in other areas of the city," he said.

Malaya said that they rely on PHIVOLCS on issues like this. "We are not the scientific experts here, its the DOST. So, until and unless PHIVOLCS removes these 8 barangays from the list of susceptible barangays, the DILG has no choice but to insist that mandatory evacuation should be implemented immediately," he added.

He said that they already requested a clarification from PHIVOLCS amidst differing claims from LGU officials. The 8 barangays from Tagaytay are Bagong Tubig, Kaybagal South (Pob)., Maharlika West, Sambong, San Jose, Silang Junction South, Maharlika East, and Tolentino East.

Based on the latest reports from DILG field offices, only Bagong Tubig and Sambong has been evacuated. The other barangays only implemented voluntary evacuation.