DILG lauds ESSU for winning the intercollegiate regional federalism debate crown

April 27, 2018

As the information and advocacy campaign on federalism further heightens throughout the country, the Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG) congratulates Eastern Samar State University (ESSU) for bagging the championship crown in the recently-concluded Intercollegiate Federalism Debates in Tacloban City.

DILG OIC Secretary Eduardo M. Ano says that the series of federalism debates is a great way to spread better learning and understanding about the federal form of government and what it means to every Filipino young and old alike.

“I extend my warm congratulations to the ESSU team and the rest of the teams who joined the Eastern Visayas intercollegiate debates. You did a great job in informing and educating the public about the merits of federalism especially that it is the cornerstone or President Duterte’s change agenda,” Ano says.

He also lauds DILG-Region 8 under Regional Director Marivel Sacendoncillo for organizing the debates which are an effective way in getting the youth involved in the national discourse on federalism.

DILG Assistant Secretary Jonathan E. Malaya who heads the DILG Center for Federalism and Constitutional Reform also expresses his appreciation now that college students are more engaged in the discussions on federalism.

Malaya encourages ESSU and all the contenders to help spread greater awareness in their respective schools on the proposed shift to a federal form of government and its huge potential benefits to the academic sector and the country as a whole.

“As first time voters, it is necessary that the youth have a seat at the table because at the end of the day, it is your generation who will reap the benefits of a more vibrant economy under a federal form of government,” he says.

Early on, the DILG has been tasked by the President to lead the information and advocacy campaign on federalism.

The ESSU Debate Team received P20,000 cash, plaque, medals, and certificates. Its team member Jeric Ueno Montes also won as Best Debater and Best Speaker.

Aside from Montes, other team members were Wences Alfon Cafe as first speaker, Joseph Jay Ayon as second speaker and Christian Daniel Campomanes as Researcher, with Ma. Teresita Quillo and Minerva Acedillo as coaches.

The team from Leyte Normal University (LNU) bagged the 1st runner-up title and brought home P10,000, plaque, medals, and certificates. The LNU team was composed of Raymond Enriquez (1st Speaker), Larry Mark Orbong (2nd Speaker), Kay Ann Torre (3rd Speaker) and Ave Maria Elizabeth Nacman as Researcher with Charles Abanilla and Ara Joy Pacoma as coaches.

Other semi-finalists are the teams from Visayas State University (VSU), and Samar College (SC). They also received P5,000, medals and certificates.

The federalism debate championship culminated a series of ten provincial elimination matches, 4 quarterfinals matches and 2 semifinal matches that were joined by some of the biggest colleges and universities in the Eastern Visayas region.

The Integrated Bar of the Philippines (IBP) Leyte Chapter led by Atty. Leo Giron as program partner brought in Judge Tarcelo A. Sabarre Jr. (Regional Trial Court Branch 30), Wenifredo C. Cuaton (RTC Branch 11) and Judge Mario O. Quinit (RTC Branch 17) who served as adjudicators for the championship.